Workshop on Machine Learning in Speech and Language Processing

September 13, 2016
San Francisco, CA, USA

Call for Papers/Abstracts and Participation

MLSLP is a workshop of SIGML, the ISCA SIG on machine learning in speech and language processing. Prior workshops were held in 2011 and 2012. While research in speech and language processing has always involved machine learning (ML), current research is benefiting from even closer interaction between these fields. Speech and language processing is continually mining new ideas from ML and ML, in turn, is devoting more interest to speech and language applications. This workshop aims to be a venue for identifying and incubating the next waves of research directions for interaction and collaboration. The workshop will not be yet another venue for applications of deep learning to speech and language processing, as this is already well covered by major conferences. It will, however, include new directions for deep learning in speech/language, as well as other emerging ideas. In general, the workshop will (1) discuss the emerging research ideas with potential for impact in speech/language and (2) bring together relevant researchers from ML and speech/language who may not regularly interact at conferences.

Paper Submission

Prospective authors are invited to submit 2-page abstracts or 4-6 page papers via the submission link to the left. Each paper/abstract will be reviewed by at least two reviewers. Each accepted paper/abstract must have at least one registered author.

Organizing Committee

Mark Hasegawa-Johnson (finance chair) UIUC
Navdeep Jaitly (local arrangements chair) Google
Joseph Keshet Bar-Ilan University
Karen Livescu TTI-Chicago
Tara Sainath Google

Scientific Program Committee

Eric Fosler-Lussier (Ohio State U.)
Brian Kingsbury (IBM)
Yang Liu (U. T. Dallas)
Abdel-rahman Mohamed (MSR)
Rohit Prabhavalkar (Google)
Michael Seltzer (MSR)
Hao Tang (TTI-Chicago)
Arun Narayanan (Google)
Sam Thomas (IBM)
Frank Seide (MSR)
Mark Gales (U. Cambridge)
Florian Metze (CMU)
Andrew Maas (Stanford U.)
Ralf Schlueter (Aachen)
Murat Saraclar (Bogazici U.)
Ebru Arisoy (MEF U.)